Mildly Amusing Musings & Some Photographs

SAPCC # 31 – Hide

This week the theme found me.  My subjects were most cooperative in offering me instances of them hiding. 

dsc_2218zoeyhide

I did not pick Zoey (above) because of her hide/fur.  I took this because she was hiding in her litter box in the back of the cage.  While I have not researched the matter, it seems to me that the shelter cats find some comfort in their litter boxes.  Unfortunately, this makes it more difficult for them to be noticed and subsequently adopted.  This is where the volunteers play a big role by helping cats like Zoey warm up to human contact and/or letting prospective adopters know that there is a shy kitty that may fit their needs. 

dsc_2236midnighthide

Midnight (above) is not shy.  Her red tag means that she is not quite ready for adoption.  She may have just recovered from an illness or she may be awaiting test results.  Any which way, this meant I could not take her out which was probably a good thing because she looks like a troublemaker. 

dsc_2348

I did not quite catch the hiding aspect of the napkin on my niece’s head but I figured I would include this for those people who like babies more than animals.  I am not one of them, but I do think Kaylee is cute. 

Other SAPCC hiders:
Russ
Brooks
Renee
Smack
Chris?
Elizabeth

12 responses

  1. watch the babyyy

    April 15, 2009 at 2:54 pm

  2. That is very interesting about the cats feeling safer in their litter box. They’re all so cute. I love the baby too.

    April 15, 2009 at 8:05 pm

  3. Conni, you know damn well that I can’t possibly get another animal…yet you continue to break my heart each week. I think Russ should shoot you.

    April 15, 2009 at 10:29 pm

  4. I am not trying to break your heart. I promise. I just love these guys so much & they are such willing subjects. I really hope Russ does shoot me though 🙂

    April 15, 2009 at 10:31 pm

  5. elizabethconner

    aww. i like Midnight. it totally looks like he’s trying to attack but keep his identity hidden…and i’m one of those people that likes babies more than animals. so thanks!!! 🙂

    April 15, 2009 at 10:37 pm

  6. Pingback: SAPCC - Hide «

  7. I liked how her left paw looked like it was humanly grasping the cage. Clever. Almost too clever. I rarely have pictures of babies but now that I have some, the others didn’t fit the theme.

    April 15, 2009 at 10:45 pm

  8. Pingback: < Penis in a Rowboat

  9. I’ve got my Cat Whisperer hat on as soon as I read that thing about preferring their litter boxes. Seriously, I don’t need to to be thinking about this all the living day long and yet I read this post yesterday and have thought of it intermittently ever since!!

    April 16, 2009 at 9:52 am

  10. OK First off i want to clear up that I have emailed Conni a few times to try and set up a photo playdate but got no response. I check it every hour hoping to see her name but alas…

    That middle shot of the kitty hiding behind the paper is hysterical! I love crazy cat and I hope she feels better from whatever she is recovering from. sweet kitty.

    April 16, 2009 at 10:48 am

  11. What email are you using? Let’s sett his up 🙂 I am so excited because it is finally getting warm enough to be doused in fake blood or whatever may strike your fancy!
    The Cat Whisperer… I should research this as well. I will ask some of the workers this weekend about the litterbox. It’s probably just comfortable.
    I hope crazy girl is ready to be taken out htis weekend. She seems like she feels fine. I have four different versions of her reaching out for me, but this was the only one that had her head hidden.

    April 17, 2009 at 6:48 am

  12. email me. that will sove this.

    April 17, 2009 at 1:00 pm

Leave a Reply

