Mildly Amusing Musings & Some Photographs

“I’ll bring home the turkey if you bring home the bacon!”

On September 1, 2010, I saw Weezer at The Great Allentown State Fair where another of my favorites, The Gaslight Anthem, opened for them.

I should forewarn you that these are perhaps the best photos I have taken since I first took the D70 to see Green Day.  What a huge difference a giant spotlight makes on concert photos!  It didn’t hurt that I could not take my eyes off of Rivers.  He is quite the showman.  Apologies to Brian, Pat, Scott, & Josh – you are all superb musicians but with the spotlight on Rivers most of the time, it was impossible to not keep my camera fixed on him.   This made me even more pissed that I missed the Williamsburg Waterfront show that my brother in law sang “I Want You To” with Rivers :( 

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

The only problem I experienced was when Rivers came into the crowd & caused a bit of a push… It jarred the memory card in the Nikon & rendered some of those photos un-openable.  This happened again when a crowd surfer landed their boot on my Nikon.*  If most people in the audience are wearing flip flops or Converse, why is it that the ones who choose to crowd surf inevitably are wearing hiking boots?  I know, I shouldn’t have a camera in the crowd but until some outlet decides that it is ok for a female who is under 65 & actually likes music to have a photo pass, I will have to stick to sneaking my cameras in & hoping for the best.  

weezer (C) conni freestone conn!

This photo above is my absolute favorite from the show.  I will do (nearly) anything to be able to shoot the Blinkerton tour, even if it was just for “Across the Sea” & I was kicked out right after :)  I cannot wait to see Weezer again, especially in a venue with great lights, great sound & an ability for me to be so close.

By the way, if you have not already purchased “Hurley,” I encourage you to do so yesterday!   My favorites so far are “Unspoken,” “Smart Girls” & “I Want To Be Something.”  Oh, & “Where’s My Sex?” & “Represent” & “All My Friends are Insects.”  Ok, so I like the whole darned thing!

All photos (C) Conn!  Unless you are Weezer, please do not use them without permission.

*Anyone know a way to open Nikon RAW files that give an “end-of-file” error in PhotoShop?  I can see the thumbnails in the preview so it makes it worse to know that they are there & they look good.  I do not have the Nikon software to open these files.  I tried adding them to the hard drive three different times.

3 responses

  1. Pingback: “Give me the fevers that just won’t break… Tell me ’bout the cool he sings you in those songs…” « Hot Tea & Tan Lines

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention “I’ll bring home the turkey if you bring home the bacon!” « Hot Tea & Tan Lines -- Topsy.com

  3. Pingback: “Well, I finally found a jungle I like. I’ll be swinging my machete tonight…” « Hot Tea & Tan Lines

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.